top of page

Season 14 Champions

A new Champion had been crowned for Season 14!

Congratulations to the Royals, Rockies, Phillies, and Athletics on making it to the 2016 SWBL Playoffs.

The Royals and Rockies collected the top seeds in their divisions with the Royals going 7-3 on the season while the Rockies took the top NL spot going 8-2. The Rockies are still the only team in the franchise era to make the playoffs every year.

First Round: Spencer Bogad and Brett Spencer faced off in a pitcher's duel that ended with the Phillies besting the Rockies 5-1. The Rockies bats were silent as they couldn't catch up to Bogad on Memorial Day. Gus Skibbe chose to not pitch again in the playoffs, starting his CY Wiffle winning teammate, Sam Skibbe who previously threw a perfect game against the Athletics this season. A costly first inning error by Ty Butler might have been the difference and the Royals could not defeat the A's for a third time losing 7-2, capping off a remarkable year for the Franchise of the Year, Athletics.

With the AL winning the ASG, the Athletics held home field advantage, but as we learned in these playoffs in which all the Away teams won, that does not matter. The finals stayed low scoring, but again the Phillies were too much, using great fielding and pitching to beat the A's 6-3 in the tight Championship game.

Congrats to the Phillies Franchise, Chris Meador, Spencer Bogad, Tyler Flakne, Edloe Donnan, and Mike Derstine on a great year. This is Chris' fourth Championship, becoming the second player to win that many.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page